13 must-see mathematics movies inspired by true events

Ali
However, Mathematics
8 min readJul 16, 2018

--

Here, I have listed my favorite math movies. I really enjoyed all of them. If you need more to watch, you can also check another beautiful math movie list on Abakcus.

Stand and Deliver

Buy the book.

Of all the “inspiring teacher” movies out there, this is one of the oldest and the best. And you don’t need to know calculus to watch it. Grade A. The best math movie ever made.

Stand and Deliver is a fantastic film and a must see. This movie served as an inspiration to me throughout middle-school and high-school. A high school teacher, who successfully inspired his dropout prone students to learn calculus. The script is good. Edward James Olmos and Estelle Harris give amazing performances. Ramon Menendez did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the drama. Great acting, story, and characters! Great film overall that I could watch again and again.

The Man Who Knew Infinity

Buy the book.

A tragic story of a genius on the scale of Mozart, who likewise dies young. A mathematician Ramanujan was a very intelligent man who just needed a chance to…

--

--

Ali
However, Mathematics

Math Teacher. Content Curator. Soccer player. Maradona fan. Mostly write about the lectures I love to learn better. alikayaspor@gmail.com