Oh, hey!

Didn’t see you there.

Asaf Gerchak
2 min readJul 14, 2014

Introductory post! Totally unnecessary. I mean, a blog isn’t like a letter, you don’t need a salutation. Even if anyone ever reads my blog, I highly doubt they’ll come all the way back here to see if I introduced myself. They’ll probably just look at my profile pic and think “this guy looks OK, I guess.” Then they’ll see a link to a better article in the sidebar and go read that instead.

I’m a stand-up comedian, but I’m learning to be a coder. I’m doing this because communication matters. Coding has become one of the most important forms of communication blah blah blah.
Look, I’m not going to wax poetic about the value of coding. The point is, it’s a language that is increasingly dominant all over the world, and one I want to learn. It was either this or Mandarin, and I’m way too tone-deaf to stand a chance in that. Seriously, that stuff is crazy! You know that fact about how a significantly higher percentage of Mandarin speakers have perfect pitch than speakers of non-tonal languages? Well, I don’t know if that’s true and can’t be bothered to take 6 seconds to look it up, but it sure SOUNDS vaguely possible, and that’s what makes a good fact.

I want this blog to be good, and hopefully most of the posts will be a bit funnier than this one is. I’m exhausted and just forcing this first one out so that I’ve started. “The first sentences are always the hardest.” Someone probably said that, right? Totally right. That’s why I put it in quotes. Bilbo Baggins kept repeating that the biggest journey begins with a single step, but that moron went on an unplanned trip with a bunch of thieving dwarves and forgot his hat on the way out the door, so I’m not sure he’s anyone we should be quoting.
Hey, remember that weird Leonard Nimoy video about Bilbo?

I’m going to try to blog about code things, but I know myself and I know the way I write (the same way I eat; emotionally and without control of my bodily functions), so this might also end up equally often being about the experiences I’m having while learning and writing code. Don’t worry, though, I’ll throw in a good enough helping of jokes and interesting facts that I remember from old QI episodes to keep you interested. For example: Lichtenstein is the world’s largest exporter of false teeth. Nice, right?

Also: Unrelated and unnecessarily dramatic header photo! Hey now!

--

--

Asaf Gerchak

I speak in code to computers and I speak in jokes to humans. Check out that second thing @ComedianOfNote