A Roundup of Posts Against Autism Speaks

Grayson Schultz
6 min readMar 30, 2017

Last updated April 25, 2024

The following is a masterpost of items against Autism Speaks. To add any, please comment below.

Note: you can find FAQs and a few updates in the very last section of this article, added in April 2024.

Bernie Sanders with text that says “I am once again asking for you to stop supporting autism speaks

Note: This post was originally pulled together in March 2017. As such, you may need to utilize the Wayback Machine to access some posts. If the trial and error of it is frustrating, they have a Google Chrome extension that will automatically access the site that way if it’s unreachable otherwise.

Anti-Vaccination Support

Anger From the Community

Anger From Parents/Families

Sexism

  • I will not ‘Light it up Blue’
    The ‘Light It Up Blue’ campaign also promotes stigma and sexism within the autism community, promoting the idea that autism is more of a masculine disease/affects boys more than girls. This is completely false and contributes to the lack of diagnoses that girls/women and non-binary people face.

Want to support Actually Autistic organizations?

Note: No organization is perfect, and there are new developments all the time. I’ve made a few notes below as of April 2022.

FAQs

Why did you write this?

When I originally wrote this, I did so because I was tired of seeing so many people have to speak up about the harm AS does as an organization. Instead of finding and pulling the same links regularly, I wanted to have one link to share information with others that they could peruse when they had time and energy to do so.

It just felt like the right ally thing to do. Back in 2017, my only confirmed form of neurodivergence was PTSD with a side of “anxiety.”

Cut to May 2021 and I was diagnosed with combined type ADHD. Through working out my ADHD treatment, I also learned that I did not have anxiety — it was instead a misdiagnosis of my ADHD. (This is incredibly common, especially in women, girls, and trans folks.)

And then cut to April 2024, and I’ve taken a number of assessments whose results clearly show autism in addition to my ADHD and complex PTSD.

Do you know that your birthname / deadname / former name is in the link?

Yep! I could change the link, but have chosen not to.

While it may seem like an odd choice to some, changing the link would possibly make it harder for folks to find this article as it’s been linked to for ages in various settings, including being cited in academic work such as PhD dissertations.

I’d rather not break links that have been shared out. The more people can access this information, the better.

--

--

Grayson Schultz

he/him | DEIB | writer, activist, educator, researcher, polymath | disabled, neurodivergent, transgender, queer | visit graysongoal.carrd.co for more