Warren Buffett lunch with Justin Sun moves to Michelin 3-star SF restaurant

TRON DAO
TRON
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2019

--

Yes, there will be steak and Coca-Cola Cherry soda on the menu!

I’m pleased to announce that this years eBay Power of One lunch with Warren Buffett will be held July 25 at Quince, a three-Michelin starred restaurant in San Francisco’s historic Jackson Square.

Image From Google

Why did I choose Quince? My team looked at many restaurants in the city, on the hunt for an intimate and amazing setting for me and up to seven guests to have both a great conversation and great food with Buffett. After narrowing the choices to three, I ultimately chose Quince because its food represents the traditional and the upstart — much like the participants in the lunch itself.

Chef Michael Tusk blends his signature mixture of French and Italian cooking with the best locally grown organic vegetables from Northern Californian gardens. He’s agreed to create a custom, five-course menu that takes into consideration all parties’ interests (including ordering in cherry Coke). With a mix of locals, out-of-towners, and celebrity clientele such as Hillary Clinton and LeBron James, the restaurant offers the highest level of privacy for guests.

Copyright Quince

For those who haven’t seen it, the Tusks have created a stunning look and feel to the restaurant, too. With exposed historic brick walls, stunning chandeliers, and views into the vaulted wine cellar, the setting is intimate and cool. Our lunch will be held in the largest private dining room, which features glass panel doors and silk drapery to allow for complete privacy. Guest also will be able to tour the stunning Tk-bottle wine cellar.

As I mentioned before, I decided to move the lunch from New York City, where it’s been held at Smith & Wollensky for many years, to San Francisco, which is home to the GLIDE Foundation. The Bay Area charity for decades has worked to help the homeless, needy and those battling substance abuse. I’m happy to see the winning $4.56 million eBay Power Lunch bid, plus an additional $100,000 I donated later, go to such a worthy cause.

Beyond the charitable donation, which I made in my capacity of CEO of BitTorrent and founder of TRON, some in the community have asked what I hope to accomplish during the lunch. I hope the lunch takes a step, however large or small, to bridge the divide between the blockchain industry and traditional investors. I’m looking forward to discussing Buffett’s investment strategies, and I’m looking to hear what great things other guests are planning to move the industry forward.

With exciting new blockchain projects moving forward from the likes of Facebook and Project Libra, J.P. Morgan and IBM, the industry is on the cusp of becoming the force I’ve always believed it to be. For the TRON and BitTorrent community, I’ll talk to Buffett and other attendees about how we’re integrating blockchain into BitTorrent, with its 100 million monthly active users and what we’re doing to expand and nurture the TRON blockchain. Lastly, I’m looking forward to a great meal!

After a joint morning press conference, we’ll follow the day with a TRON community press conference to give an update on what we spoke about and end with a cool party to celebrate the one-year anniversary of TRON’s independence and my purchase of BitTorrent.

--

--