Facebook Vulnerability: $1500 for Removing Document Cover

Muhammad Sholikhin
2 min readJul 17, 2021

Unfortunately Facebook now deactivate user to create a post with document in group. Whereas from this feature I start as bug hunter and find 10 bugs on Facebook. That is story with good news. My last two years Facebook always reject my reports with duplicate, informative and -10 points (you know what I mean? Wkwk). I don’t know about my false to productive again. Base on my bad news, now I thinking about give up as bug hunter. Hunting bug is not my skill.

Group member have choice to create a document with other member to edit his document or not. The issue, victim not allowing any people to edit his document, that means attacker not permit to remove the cover.

  1. Victim create a document and not allow any member to edit his document
  2. Attacker create document and remove the cover
  3. Change the note_id with victim’s note_id

POST /notes/composer/remove_cover_photo/?dpr=1.5 HTTP/1.1

Host: web.facebook.com

note_id=(VICTIM NOTE_ID HERE)&….

4. Run the request.

After doing some development, this issue not only impact for “Document” but also on “Notes”. The different is Document form Note in group, but Note have no other user option to edit it.

25 July 2017: Report

26 July 2017: First response

8 August 2017:Second response

11 August 2017: They fix my bug

23 August 2017: Facebook reward me $1500

--

--

Muhammad Sholikhin

Facebook Bug hunter, droup out from university but not have career like Mark zuckerberg