Landing into bed

Paul Syng
2 min readJan 2, 2018

When you’re a morning person like myself, you commence your evening descent by 9 pm. Here’s how I mastered the art of landing into bed, turbulence free.

Taking off, early, is all about planning your night before. Daily rituals, people. I’d be a terrible Batman if you know what I mean.

As one nears towards the end of the night, take your foot off the gas and let your engines cool. I begin by eating the last meal by 7 pm, leaving room for a cup of tea. Coffee helps me wake up while tea relaxes my nerves.

I flood the room with Spotify tunes, read an article (on an arbitrary topic) and fool around in Photoshop (never Sketch). Minutes later I feel calm. With time the routine manifests into an autopilot response.

I switch into uniform, comprising of loose clothes (or was it “lose”) and rinse my eyes with cold water. Your final boarding call entails a cup of tea, bedside and any last-minute phone check-in on social media.

Time to join your doppelganger at the sink, young man.

Back? Once you’ve taxied off the runway (navigated back from the kitchen where you went to drop off the mug), you arrive at your gate (the bed). With the lights and screens off you’ve arrived at your final destination.

Sweet dreams, captain.

Original post.

--

--