Parenting Magazines “Seasons” App for iPad

Slyder Ryley
3 min readNov 4, 2017

I fell in love the other day with a new app for my iPad. As a mom of three I am always looking for ideas, recipes and fun stuff for the family. After searching the App Store, I came across the new app called “Parenting Seasons”. Like the popular parenting magazines “Parents” and “Parenting: Early Years” this app features seasonally based activities, recipes, articles and ideas for the family.

The download time was faster than many of the magazines that I have downloaded but really for me, it was worth any wait. The app features beautiful full color pictures (you’ll swear they are going to step off the screen and say hello!), a great organized format and best of all neat little “extras” that really made this a fun read. My first “glance” of the app lasted nearly 2 hours as I turned each page and explored the content. This is where in the mass debate of the Amazon Fire Tablet vs iPad, the iPad takes the cake simply because of apps like this. I don’t believe this app is available for Amazon tablets.

I really appreciated the way the information was organized, and the bright seasonally featured pictures really made me excited to see what was next. I also liked the bold titles at the top of each section and the calendar sections for each month and great for planning special events that month with the kids.

One of the features that was nice for me was the “plus” icons on the pages (these are circles with a plus sign in them). You click the icon and extra hints; tricks and ideas pop up related to the content that you just read, or it takes you right to the recipe featured in the beautiful pictures on that page. I could easily doc my iPad and then follow the directions for the recipe or activity.

Beautiful image of an iPad.

This app was a nice surprise and priced well for the information that you receive. Although some may say that it is just an organized platform for the regular parenting magazine content, I would disagree because for parents like myself, the organization of the app is what makes it so easy to use and engaging. My kids even enjoyed looking at the pages and picking out the activities that they wanted to do for the day. If you already are a fan of Parenting Magazine, this is a must have companion to their regular subscription magazine.

This app is available through the App Store on your iPad and is $2.99 an issue. Issues come out seasonally (Winter, Spring, Summer and Fall) and are about a 3–4-minute initial download.

--

--

Slyder Ryley

I’ve been known as Slyder all my life and enjoy blogging about stuff the piques my interest from time to time. If you like what you see, let me know!