How to contact me securely

Zack Whittaker
3 min readOct 2, 2016

If you see something, leak something. Telling the world holds people in office accountable, no matter how big or small it may be.

There are a number of ways to contact me securely, in ranking order.

Encrypted calls and texts

I use both Signal and WhatsApp for end-to-end encrypted calling and messaging. The apps are available for iPhones and Android devices.

You can reach me at +1 646-755–8849 on Signal or WhatsApp.

I will get back to you as soon as possible if I don’t immediately respond.

Encrypted instant messaging

You can also contact me using “Off The Record” messaging, which allows you to talk to me in real time on your computer. It’s easy to use once you get started. This helpful guide will show you how to get set up.

You will need a Jabber instant messaging account. There are many options to choose from. For anonymity, you should create an account through the Tor browser.

You can reach me at: zackwhittaker@jabber.at during working hours.

When you verify my fingerprint, it’s this: C0506F10 5E2B38C1 01D0791E C2ED147A 2CD56D6C (new as of December 26, 2017).

Send me PGP email

My email address is zack.whittaker@gmail.com (remove the dot for PGP).

PGP, or “Pretty Good Privacy,” is a great (but tricky-to-use) way of emailing someone encrypted files or messages. PGP works on almost every email account and computer, but using it on your work or home email address won’t hide who you are, or the fact that you sent a reporter an email.

If you want to remain anonymous, go somewhere that isn’t your home or work network. Then, you should use the Tor browser, which hides your location, to access a free email service (like this one or this one).

The EFF has a set of easy-to-use tutorials on how to get started.

You will need my public PGP key to email me securely, available here.

You can also verify my PGP fingerprint to be sure it’s me: 4D0E 92F2 E36A EC51 DAAE 5D97 CB8C 15FA EB6C EEA5.

You can also get this information on my Keybase profile.

Send me snail mail

Sometimes, sending a USB stick or documents is easiest if you mail them along. If you are to do so, make sure you send them from outside your ZIP code as mail is often scanned and printed with the location it was dropped off — even if you don’t leave a return address.

You can send me snail mail at the following address:

Zack Whittaker c/o TechCrunch
770 Broadway, 6th Floor
New York City, New York 10003
United States of America

Don’t leave your return address. But if you want me to contact you again, leave a single word or phrase on the inside of the envelope and message me with that phrase over Signal. That will help me identify you as the sender.

--

--

Zack Whittaker

An Englishman in New York. Security editor, TechCrunch. I write a lot.