Stop romanticizing the outcome!

How to increase your chances of success when starting out

Bruce Flow
Betterism

--

There are multiple occasions in my life when I decide to embark on a new project. The project could be a participating in a new sport, picking up a new skill or joining a new social group.

In certain projects, I invest effort without having to forcefully discipline myself. Working on these projects doesn’t feel like a grind. I see continued progression in my skills. My level of enjoyment increase over time. I stick with these projects over years and they become a part of my life and identity.

In other projects, I get excited at the beginning. I slam myself at those projects with full force. I see progress in the beginning. But after a few weeks, problems start to rear their heads. Dealing with those challenges feel like a chore. Beyond this point, it takes a lot of power of will to stick with the project. It feels like work and not play. More often than not, I give up on such projects.

The question of why I am successful at some projects and fail miserably at others has haunted me for years. Multiple factors have crossed my mind, including:

  • My natural skills and inclinations relating to the project
  • People with whom I do the project with

--

--

Bruce Flow
Betterism

Polymath by calling. Software developer by profession. Student of the mind by nature.