It’s Okay to be Afraid

Let fear and level headedness exist side by side.

--

Fear is an underlying current in the human condition. Unfortunately, it sometimes turns into a raging river.

Right now there’s a lot of fear over the COVID-19 pandemic. The situation is changing by the minute, and we’ve been warned it will get worse before it gets better.

Some people are outwardly expressing their fear while others are suppressing or denying it.

Spend a minute on Facebook or Twitter and you’ll see a range of comments. When I come across a post that sounds angry, callous, or heartless, I suspect suppressed fear is behind it.

When I come across a post that sounds angry, callous, or heartless, I suspect suppressed fear is behind it.

I’ve seen people call the virus Darwin’s answer to old and sick people. Ouch.

I’ve seen people hoarding supplies and doing senseless things like spraying their children with Lysol. Don’t do that.

Do this instead to break the grip of fear.

Acknowledge you feel fear. It’s okay to be afraid. You don’t have to resist fear, and at the same time, you don’t have to be ruled by it…

--

--

Dr. Christine Bradstreet
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Editor of Change Your Mind Change Your Life and Success On The Spectrum. I wrote a book to help you be happy. Get yours at www.happyeverafter.info