Next chapter

David Ascher
david ascher
Published in
2 min readAug 18, 2016

Today marks the last day of my employment at Mozilla. It’s been roughly 9 years, but it’s time to shift gears, to do something different. I’m excited by the opportunity to look up, around, and figure out where to next!

In case there’s any doubt, I am still a big believer in the Mozilla mission. I’m also a big fan of Mozillians, many of whom work diligently in pursuit of this mission in ways big and small, with a remarkable combination of talent, passion, positive intent and kindness. I’m looking forward to continuing to contribute to the project, connecting Mozilla with people and projects with common goals.

Mozilla consists of a lot of pearls!

Everyone is asking me what’s next, and the my answer so far is: “I have no idea, what do you think it should be?” Over the next few months, I’m going to diversify my professional and intellectual diet, and see where that takes me.

To that end, I’m starting a bunch of conversations, the more diverse the better. I’m also hoping to take some time to play around on my own, with everything from emerging tech to alternative business models, from small hunches to big ideas to laser cutters. I will consult on a few projects, advise and mentor some students and startups, and reconnect with academia, a connection I’ve not nurtured enough in the last decade.

A particularly memorable experience

Given all of the above, if you know me and know of projects or people that I should know more about, do get in touch. I’m really looking forward to this exploratory phase.

I’m particularly looking for :

  • projects that want to use the internet to effect a positive change on the world: from global warming to economic injustice and more, I like projects that aren’t afraid to try and tackle important issues.
  • questions and people who will teach me something
  • initiatives which will help me keep a global outlook (it’s been one of the best aspects of my time at Mozilla)
  • projects that are open to significant changes in direction, scale, or impact
  • small and diverse teams

Onwards!

--

--