5 Controversial Truths by Nietzsche That Changed My Life

(2) “Sometimes people don’t want to hear the truth because they don’t want their illusions destroyed.”

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth
Published in
6 min readJul 23, 2024

--

Photo: friedrich_nietzsche.official/Instagram

Friedrich Nietzsche has been a controversial figure for centuries. His radical ideas challenged the very foundations of morality, religion, society and life satisfaction. He provoked outrage. However, some people admired him for his courage.

“Call me whatever you like; I am who I must be,” Nietzsche said.

Nietzsche was more than a provocateur: he made convincing observations on living our best lives. He challenged the very foundations of a good life. I didn’t always like what he said, but I couldn’t ignore it. His ideas are exciting and terrifying all at once. Nietzsche made me question my values, goals and understanding of a great life.

His truths were uncomfortable, but they were necessary.

I’ve been applying some of his wisdom for years.

I’ve written about some of Nietzsche’s ideas here, here and here. While often misunderstood, his words made me think about my life trajectory. Nietzsche’s ideas challenged beliefs and preconceptions. Some of his thoughts forced me to re-examine my deepest fears, but most importantly helped me to rethink what it means…

--

--

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth

Making the wisdom of great thinkers instantly accessible. As seen on Forbes, Inc. and Business Insider. For my popular essays, go here: https://thomasoppong.com