React and JSS: tips from a one-year journey

More than one year ago we started a new project: a universal SPA based on React and Redux. One of the first choices to make was: “how do we handle stylesheets?”. We gave a chance to JSS. 60+ components later, it has been the best experience we had with stylesheets so far. Here are some technical solutions we adopted and the overall feedback.

Dario Ghilardi
1 min readOct 4, 2017

I was initially skeptic about the CSS-in-JS solutions that were recently gaining popularity. Probably I was overestimating the benefits of working with a toolset that I already knew, SASS, compared to the many benefits JSS brings to a React project. Anyway, after some internal team discussions, we decided to give JSS and its React integration (react-jss) a chance.

At the beginning not everything was straightforward: here is how we managed to solve some of the problems we discovered.

I decided to leave Medium and move my articles to my personal blog.

You can read the rest of this article here.

--

--

Dario Ghilardi

Passionate software engineer, trail runner, traveler. Insanely affected by lifelong learning. @darioghilardi