Making Mommy a Cake

You don’t need fancy tools to do so

Leah Rieger
2 min readJun 5, 2014

My son was on his own at first. Being left alone doing whatever he was doing.

As always my daughter wanted to know what he was doing because it might be something awesome and she’s not going to miss a minute of anything awesome.

I just quietly started taking their pictures.

Nothing better than dirt. Literally nothing for this little man.
Getting into it. The random play starts to turn into something.
Continued intensity.
The photographer gets caught spying! My daughter says, “NO! Don’t look we are making you a cake!”
Enough talking to mom. Back to work. Oh and a bird got interested. Ok not really, but he/she stopped by for a second.
She’s very excited about the birthday cake making. Note that it’s always someone’s birthday in our house. My birthday is at the end of September. She doesn’t care about that.
Dirt is a good thing. I mean this had nothing with me (well except for it being my cake of course!). No toys. No wipes. No nothing. The cake making became something they did without me telling them what to do or how to do it and to make sure they wiped their hands off when they were done.
I change position to get a look at this fantastic cake!
One last set of sprinkles perhaps?
My cake with proud kids behind it.

Yes to us this is a pile of dirt and rocks. That’s all it is.

To them it’s a cake.

--

--