Flutter — Make an Easy RSS Feed Reader

Jonathan Ingram
3 min readJan 24, 2020

With all my years of programming, I’ve never gotten around to an important milestone. Every programmer should play with an RSS feed at some point in their coding adventure. One of my favorite feeds is the Hacker News RSS feed.

I decided to write such an app and share what I learned along the way. Since I’m using the Hacker News RSS job feed, I couldn’t help myself when it came time for me to think about the design. As you‘ll see in the GIF later in the article, I designed the app to look like a terminal application.

What Is an RSS Feed?

RSS is a web feed that allows users and applications to access updates to websites in a standardized, computer-readable format. RSS stands for Really Simple Syndication. Many websites today have them including Medium.

How To Use Medium RSS Feeds

Below is what actual RSS data looks like.

Assumptions

I’ll assume you already have a development environment setup for Flutter and can create a new project. If you don’t have an environment setup, I highly recommend checking out the link below.

--

--

Jonathan Ingram

I’m a seasoned IT professional with a love for writing, programming, and storytelling.