Blue Blooded Instagrammer #29: @saschgtb

Thomas Stege Bojer
4 min readJan 8, 2019

Q&A with Sascha Giebeler aka @saschgtb

Instagram is an awesome place to meet other denimheads. And if your content is good, Instagram’s algorithm helps you get discovered too. Sascha surely has good content 😍

You can also speed up the getting discovered process a little by tagging others. That’s actually how I first found Sascha’s feed; he was tagging me 😉

It worked; I started following him, and I reposted one of his pictures. I also got curious about his story, so here it is.

What’s your story

Name: Sascha Giebeler

Birth year: 1972

Location: Germany

Profession: Managing Consultant

Blue Blooded, Instagrammer, saschgtb, Denimhunters, Amsterdam, Momotaro, Going to Battle, Red Wing boots,

Sascha’s Instagram Feed and Routines

Thomas: How did it all start with your Instagram feed?

Sascha: I started my Instagram feed in January 2018. A few months before, I saw all the amazing pics with denim, boots and workwear. I was so excited that I wanted to try it myself.

T: Why Instagram? What are your goals?

S: Primarily for fun and talking with denimheads all over the world. I have gotten to know so many fantastic people in about only one year, it’s incredible.

T: How much time do you spend on Instagram on a daily basis?

S: I think it’s about two or three hours a day. Maybe a little bit more on the weekends.

Blue Blooded, Instagrammer, saschgtb, Denimhunters, Momotaro, Going to Battle, yellow leather gloves, black leather jacket

T: How do you take your photos?

S: Most of the pics are taken by my lovely wife @owl_2018. She’s a hobby photographer and so it’s quite perfect to spend time together. On weekends, we combine shootings with a short walk outside or a city trip. Pictures of flat lays I take myself with my Samsung Galaxy S8.

T: Which tools do you use?

S: My wife uses a Canon camera. For editing, I use Snapseed for the outdoor pics and the built-in editing tools in Instagram for my flat lays.

T: What’s your editorial flow?

S: Most of the time, I post photos on Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Sunday. Usually, I post in the morning and get back to Instagram during my lunch break at work.

T: What are your favourite locations to take photos? And why?

S: I love taking pics with nice backgrounds. Since I’ve started posting on Instagram, I pay a lot more attention to locations when I’m walking around, running or cycling. And if there’s a good place, I get back for taking pics.

Blue Blooded, Instagrammer, saschgtb, Denimhunters, Momotaro, Going to Battle

Sascha’s Denim Style and Preferences

T: How did you get into denim?

S: Inspired by The Heritage Post, I bought my first pair of raw denim jeans in December 2016. It was the 10th anniversary Momotaro jeans with battle stripes. That’s why I decided to take the name saschgtb for Instagram. ‘GTB’ is for ‘Going To Battle.’ Through Instagram, I’ve further discovered the raw denim philosophy and the outstanding craftsmanship.

T: What’s your favourite feature of jeans?

S: First of all, I love the battle stripes of my Momotaro jeans and jackets. After that, it’s the fabric. I really love the touch of raw denim. And after beating them up and giving them a lot of wear, it’s so fantastic to have a personalised and faded pair of jeans.

T: How do you wash your denim?

S: I wash by hand in my bathtub if it’s really necessary.

T: What’s your favourite fit?

S: Slim straight. I like tapered cuts the most.

Blue Blooded, Instagrammer, saschgtb, Denimhunters, Red Wing boots,

T: Which boots and leather goods do you wear with your denim?

S: I’m infected with the #redwingvirus. So I wear Red Wings most of the time. But I like my Thursday boots too.

My favourite leather goods are my belts from Timeless Leather and Forty Nine Leather, and my card case from Ondura.

T: Which sneakers do you wear?

S: Usually PRO-Keds and PF Flyers.

T: Favourite item that’s not denim or leather?

S: I love Chup socks since Carl aka @calgeary brought me two pairs from his trip to Japan.

Blue Blooded, Instagrammer, saschgtb, Denimhunters,

T: Where do you buy your gear?

S: I like visiting shops when we’re making city trips, for example Arborator in Maastricht, Black&Blue Nijmegen or Kentaurus in Cologne.

My favourite webshop is Redcast Heritage Co. from Madrid. I can highly recommend their customer service and the variety of Japanese brands.

T: What styling tips would you give your followers if they wanted your style?

S: Always try to choose quality goods. You won’t go wrong. Wear what you like and have fun with it.

Hi Thomas Stege. You’ll get the next interview delivered to your inbox!

Because you have a subscription, you’re on the newsletter list (unless you’ve actively unsubscribed, in which case you can always resubscribe).

That means you’ll get the next Blue Blooded interview delivered straight to your inbox. Discover all the content your subscription gives you access to here.

--

--