Lessons From Berserk: You Can Never Outrun Reality

Life is cruel, but you have to learn to embrace it

Tow M.Y
おたく Thoughts

--

For me, the most impactful and memorable scene in Berserk has nothing to do with Casca or Griffith. I know how strange that sounds, because nearly every bad or good thing in Guts’ life revolves around them, but I wouldn’t make such a bold statement without being sure. After rereading the entire story, twice, my thoughts have not changed. That particular scene still hits the hardest.

I suppose it is what it is. We can’t choose how art will affect us. Now, I’m not trying to sound pretentious, but there is no other word that can adequately describe Berserk.

It is art, plain and simple. It is Kentaro Miura’s crowning achievement, one that will remain in the manga hall of fame five, ten or even twenty years down the road. Despite the heart breaking fact it will never see completion, I truly believe no other story will ever come close to magnificence of Berserk.

Alright, let’s return to the topic before I start sobbing like an overgrown infant.

Part of the Conviction Arc, the impactful scene I’m referring to takes place in the Lost Children chapter. The chapter primarily features a young girl named Jill, who we never see again after this subplot is concluded, and while this…

--

--

Tow M.Y
おたく Thoughts

Fresh graduate trying to navigate the stormy waters of life. I do what I like, but I also want to like what I’m made to do.