OHANA (2)

Nuey Pitcha Suphantarida
にじだより
Published in
5 min readNov 30, 2019

I began the project with the desire to get to know the helpers at my home better. In order to do so, I tested on a variety of methods and gauged on everyone’s reactions. Summer break was the time use different means to know Ae and Sorn.

The extraordinary events

As fieldwork began, there were many episodes that were beyond my expectations. Pong pong’s return to Myanmar and my Grandfather’s funeral were two big events which highlighted the summer break. Through these events, different facets of Ae and Sorn were revealed as they were physically put into different places. For example, Ae left on a short break on a daytrip with Pong-pong to the nearby department store before he leaves for Myanmar to be taken care by Ae’s sister. Ae became a little quieter and less energetic upon her parting with her son. Sorn, on the other hand was “dispatched” by my parents to keep my grandmother company throughout the one-week long funeral of my grandfather. Sorn recounted on her feelings silently observing my grieving grandmother. Hence, the routine-like rituals of work such as cleaning and cooking were temporarily replaced with other events that were unexpected, voluntarily and involuntarily. Through these events, I was able to see the two in places away from the house and how they reflexively react to their environment.

Knowing each other through daily exchanges

At the same time, there were many day-to-day conversations which led me to hearing more about their lives. Small talk was an essential in piecing together Ae and Sorn’s past experiences. With simple exchanges of care such as “What are you eating today?”, “Are you going anywhere this weekend?”, “What are you watching?”, details that were unnoticed before slowly come to light.

At the same time, action revealed more about relationships. Sorn sometimes would buy my mom’s favorite Thai snacks and put it in on the table just before my mother arrives back from work. My mother would call Sorn’s phone which would ring through the kitchen (Sorn said she wants to make sure she hears her anticipated call) to get help with her injured leg. On a busy day, I see remnants of half eaten lunch were left in the kitchen. They were traces of actions when I was not there. This leaves room for imagination. Sometimes they tell more than words.

Casual conversations on small changes in appearance were big guiding question that led conversations, and upon inference, revealed their beliefs. How Ae takes care of Chanon’s appearance revealed a large part of how she brought her beliefs from Myanmar. While asking questions was helpful, talking about myself and my life in Japan was another topic which led to a series of very personal conversations. Conversation is not one-way. As we open up about each other, the more different sides of our identity showed. I too, got to reflect on my experiences as an international student in Japan and see how they imagined my life here to be.

Chanon and his artifacts

Kitchen in our day-to-day routines

Within day-to-day conversations, our interactions mostly occur during eating hours as it is the time that people gather to the kitchen. The kitchen is not only a space for cooking and eating, but also a place for lounging and resting. It was a meaningful place in the atmosphere of the home and family. I had focused on the kitchen because it was the place with easiest access and is semi-private. Throughout the summer break, I have struggled entering the back kitchen or the laundry room. It was like an invisible barrier- the fear that I may have intruded on their privacy. But as it approaches mealtimes, everyone emerges from their private spaces and gathers in the kitchen.

However, only the middle part of the kitchen was somehow comfortable for all of us, both my family members and the helpers. It is an area used by the helpers to cook for the family, and where my parents occasionally come in to get their rice or use the microwave. It was a place where power balances were slightly toned down for all of us.

Kitchen Floor Plan

Communication taken within the kitchen ranges from non-verbal exchanges of simply being in the same space, to longer conversations and activities. As time shifts from day to night, scenery in the kitchen changes. It was important to note the exchange of work and rest, as when they worked to prepare food, it was our time to rest, and vice versa. There was seldom any time where both sides completely are at rest.

In making the atmosphere of the home and in interactions, Sorn and Chanon are the most mobile of all, moving to the front and all the way into the back, meanwhile Ae maintains her movement from middle to the back kitchen. To me, Sorn and Chanon were important “ active messengers” which links everyone together. Both Sorn and Chanon communicate with my parents directly and imparts on a huge role of making the home’s atmosphere.

Together with Sorn

In addition to these natural events, there were also more active approaches. In the summer break, I began taking videos of Sorn as I follow her to the markets. I chose the market as it was one of her favourite places outside the home. Referring to the very first diagram, it is also a place which is semi-routine and semi-dispatch, a place of ‘in-between’. In addition to this, I asked if she can show me her rooms and some belongings that she cares about. I have used my DJI OSMO Pocket, a small video camera to record our experiences. The use of this small gadget was a huge success in that as we proceeded with our talk, the realization of being filmed slowly fades with time. In the next article, I would like to further examine how the introduction of using videos have helped me relive moments as I part from the field and how being away from home has changed the relationship dynamics between all of us.

A screenshot from a video interview, using photographs as guides to talk about Sorn’s past experiences.

--

--

Nuey Pitcha Suphantarida
にじだより

2nd year student at Keio University, SFC. Thai-born. Currently in Japan