Here’s My Lifebook Journey

How I rewired 12 life categories in 6 weeks

Charlene Wang
LivingOS
3 min readApr 13, 2020

--

A few friends have reached out with questions about Lifebook Online, so I decided to share my Lifebook story with you.

I created this vision board based on my Lifebook

What is Lifebook?

Lifebook is your dynamic game plan for 12 areas of your life. Jon and Missy Butcher (Lifebook’s founders) will guide you to create your own statement. For example, here is one of my career visions:

My work is a true and natural expression of my life purpose and it brings constant joy, motivation, and fulfillment.

And here’s one of my quality of life visions:

I want absolute freedom to do what I want, where I want, when I want every day.

They will also call out the BS and inspire you to define your own success. That said, you are expected to put in the hard work and reflect. Lifebook is about taking responsibility for your life. The more you put in, the more you get out of it.

You may wonder what’s the point of doing this if you already know what you want. Well, I thought so too until I went through the process and found my blind spots. If you don’t write them down in words, you can’t have true clarity.

What is the time commitment?

Throughout the six weeks, you will spend 2hr watching lectures and writing your premise, vision, purpose, and strategy each week. I was able to do the videos during my commute and incorporate the writing in my journal, so the time commitment is relatively low.

Is Lifebook for everyone?

People have said many great things online, but I wanted to give a caveat: If you are some life guru or have spent a considerable amount of time visualizing your life, Lifebook might be redundant.

On the other hand, if you would appreciate some clarity in certain areas of life, Lifebook would be a great place to start.

What was my experience like?

Here’s the “life assessment” I took before and after the course.

Pre-Lifebook Assessment (Left) vs Post-Lifebook Assessment (Right)

Unlike most students in my cohort, my overall “life quotient” has dropped from 132 to 125 after I completed the course. Though they are both at the same level (extraordinary), I didn’t experience the “amazing boost” others shared in the community.

Then why did my score drop? Honestly, I think the original score was inflated by my irrational optimism. As I reflect and get more clarity into life, I begin to notice areas that could get even better. This awareness is key to my progress in categories such as health & fitness, spirituality, and social life.

How to get the most out of it?

Remember that Lifebook is a dynamic game plan. You want to keep it updated with new knowledge, consciously balance the 12 categories, and review it at major life transitions.

I found it helpful to find a structured goal-setting rhythm such as daily habits, weekly reviews, and monthly check-ins.

With this extra clarity and strategy, you can move toward your life vision and are set to live the best version of your life.

Have you done any other life planning or visioning exercises? Let me know your experience in the comments below :)

--

--

Charlene Wang
LivingOS

Founder, Distillable; Ex-Google Product Manager, Health AI