封面背後的意義: Carrie Chau

EDiversity
《善養小童成大同》
11 min readOct 3, 2017

--

畫家Carrie Chau對《善養小童成大同》封面的解釋:
https://vimeo.com/235116382/a0bcaad003
(English transcription of Carrie’s explanation after the Chinese one below.)

Hello, 我係Carrie!
首先好多謝教育大同搵我為呢本咁有意義嘅書
《善養小童成大同》畫封面畫
呢幅就係我幫書畫嘅畫
而家我要解答番編輯嘅一啲問題
點解呢幅畫個小朋友件衫會有兩個人出現呢?
點解有咁多太陽花喺幅畫裡面呢?
點解會有路軌, 會有火車,
又會有恐龍嘅?
跟住又會有條橋, 又會有個海喎
點解咁多element嘅幅畫?
好, 我而家講番比大家聽
首先講最重要嗰件先
點解件衫度有兩個人出現
因為呢本始終係Parenting嘅書
爸爸媽媽係需要出現嘅
但我唔想用一個好直接嘅方法
畫番爸爸媽媽拖住個細路仔咁樣去表達
所以我就掉番轉黎諗
究竟爸爸媽媽嘅愛或者係教養
喺細路仔心目中係個乜嘢嘅形象呢?
我覺得爸爸媽媽嘅愛呢
好似小朋友心裡面嘅一條樹根咁
當個灌溉愈好
你比到愈多嘅愛佢
個根就會愈壯健
會愈strong
你唔會好實在咁見到個爸爸媽媽
佢係喺裡面嘅
我嘅意思係就算日後小朋友成長咗
無論爸爸媽媽再喺唔喺身邊都好
呢份愛係會守護住呢個小孩嘅一生囉
就好似一條冇規限形狀嘅路軌咁樣
會有架火車永遠守護住個細路仔
但又唔係限死佢喎
總之佢就圍住個細路仔
放心啦, 你放心行你嘅路啦
爸爸媽媽嘅愛就會守護住小朋友一世
呢個就係我希望帶出嘅意思囉
所以我都答咗編輯第二同第三個問題嘞
呢幅畫個名我叫佢做Train Track
爸爸媽媽嘅愛就好似離遠嘅路軌守護住我地咁.
咁點解有咁多太陽花嘅出現呢?
首先因為我好鐘意太陽花
因為佢個金色好豐盛
我覺得小朋友嘅童年就應該係咁
好應該好happy、好豐盛、好無憂無慮
咁所以我就畫咗太陽花落去囉
另外亦因為我知道Robin本Parenting for a Peaceful World
第一版用咗澳洲好出名一個畫家叫做David Boyd
佢用咗太陽花同啲小朋友喺度跳舞嘅畫做封面
好我而家試吓搵番幅畫出黎先
就係呢幅啦 (04:35)
因為我想做個前後對比
將呢個中文版同初版有個溝通
做個呼應
所以我就畫番太陽花落中文版嘅封面上
我有個好得意嘅諗法囉
若果呢本書繼續有唔同嘅版本呢
唔知畫封面嗰個設計者可以繼續承傳擺太陽花落封面度
但又有自己唔同嘅諗法呢?
咁就會有好多唔同版本嘅Parenting for a Peaceful World嘅太陽花出現
但又有自己唔同嘅嘢
咁我會覺得好得意囉呢個系列
好嘞, 講吓恐龍嘞
點解會有恐龍嘅出現呢?
其實同我媽媽有小小關係
因為我細個時媽媽好鐘意比民謠我聽
我唔知點解上一代好鐘意聽一啲folk song
因為我估計佢地覺得可以學到好多英文
同埋呢啲歌蘊含咗好多人生嘅智慧
所以我諗佢地特別鐘意聽呢啲歌
同埋都希望佢地啲細路仔都聽
所以佢比好多民謠我聽
有隊組合佢特別鐘意
叫Peter Paul and Mary
呢隻恐龍就黎自佢其中一首歌
Puff the Magic Dragon
呢隻恐龍就係其中一個阿Puff啦
呢首其實係一首反戰嘅歌黎嘅
就係講阿Magic Puff 同一個小朋友叫Jacky
佢地嘅友誼同佢地嘅童年點樣過
我覺得好襯呢幅畫
因為呢幅畫其實係講緊點去邁向一個和平嘅世界
咁呢首歌其實係講緊反戰啦
所以我就將呢隻恐龍放喺呢幅畫上
喻意和平
我自己亦好鐘意呢隻紫色恐龍
若果讀者有睇開我嘅畫
您唔難發現有呢隻紫色恐龍
因為我細個成日幻想有阿Puff有隻恐龍陪我玩
就好似叮當同大雄嘅關係咁
所以呢隻紫色恐龍可以係我細個嘅吉祥物
咁點解會有橋同海嘅出現呢?
橋係我想講communication
好似兩滴水
點解有海嘅出現
就係一滴同第兩滴水嘅溝通
意思係一滴水同另一滴水經過傾偈、磨合、溝通
跟住共融變成一攤水
跟位水攤水變成河
河又變成海
海又變成汪洋
咁我想講咩呢?
其實我想祝褔呢本書
而家有班人佢地相信呢種parenting嘅方式係好好嘅
可以令到個世界變成更加美好
我希望呢班人可以藉著呢本書
感染到另一班人
跟住呢班人就會愈來愈大群
最後好似呢本書嘅書名咁講
善養小童成大同
成為一個大同世界囉
呢個係我想帶出嘅訊息
好希望你地鐘意呢幅畫
同解決到編輯嘅問題
拜拜!

Hello, I am Carrie!
I have to first thank EDiversity for inviting me to draw the cover
For this very meaningful book.
I will answer the questions frome the editor now.
Why are there two people on the kid’s clothing?
Why are there so many sunflowers in it?
Why are there tracks and train?
And why is there a dragon, a bridge and the sea?
Why are there so many elements in the painting?
I will tell you now.
First the most important one
Why are there two people on the clothing.
This is a parenting book and there have to be mum and dad in it.
But I don’t want to use a direct method
Like having mum and dad holding a child’s hands to express it.
So I flipped my thinking
What is the image of love from the point of view of a child?
I think it’s like a root
If you irrigate it well, give it more love
The root will get stronger
You won’t see parents there with flesh and blood
What I mean is even when the child has grown up
When mum and dad are not with him anymore
This love will safeguard the child for life
It’s like a track without a form
There will be a train protecting the child forever
But it doesn’t limit her
It just go round the kid af if to say
It’s ok, just walk your path
The parents’ love will protect the kid’s life forever is my message.
I name this painting Train Track.
So parents’ love is like a track which protect us from a distant.
Now, why is there so many sunflowers?
First it’s because I love it
I think the golden clour is very full
I think childhood should be like this too
Being happy, full and worry-free
That’s why I put that in.
It’s also because I know in the first edition of Robin’s “Parenting for a Peaceful World”
He has used the painting of a famous Australia artist David Boyd
Which depicts sunflowers dancing with children.
Let me find this picture
It’s this one (04:35)
I want to make a contrast
To have a communication between this Chinese version and the first edition
I have an interesting thought
If there are more editions of this book
Would the future artist continue to use sunflower
But express it with their own ideas?
Then there will be many versions of Parenting for a Peaceful World’s sunflowers.
I think this will be a very interesting series.
Now, let me talk about the dragon.
Why is there a dragon?
It has a little to do with my mum.
When I was young she used to play me folk songs.
I don’t know why the last generation like folk songs so much.
I think maybe they can learn much English from them.
These songs also have a lot of wisdom.
That’s why they love them and want their children to listen too.
There’s is a band she particularly likes
It’s Peter Paul and Mary
And Puff the Magic Dragon is one of their songs
This dragon is acutally Puff
This song is an anti-war song
It talks about Magic Puff and a kid Jacky
About their friendship and how they spent childhood together.
I think this matches a lot with this painting
Which is about how to achieve a peacful world.
That’s why I put it in to imply peace.
I also love this purple dragon.
If you have seen my other paintings
You can find it easily in many of them.
As it is my imagined friend when I was young.
Just like Doraemon and Nobita Nobi
This purple dragon is like my mascot as a child.
So why is there a bridge and the sea?
The bridge is about communication
Like two droplets of water
When they talk and communicate
They become a puddle
The puddle becomes a river
And river becomes a sea
So what exactly I want to say?
I want to give my blessing to this book.
Now there is a group of people who think this parenting method
Will make the world a better place
I hope they can, through this book,
Influence another group
And then they become more and more
And like what they book name says
Raise you kid in kindness to make a utopian world.
This is my message
I hope you like my drawing
And I hope I’ve answered the editor’s questions.
Bye!

--

--

EDiversity
《善養小童成大同》

A parent-initiated NGO promoting diversity and choice in education in Hong Kong.