2 years as a content design lead: major lessons & insights

Shirley Chan
0-to-1 Content Design
6 min readSep 2, 2023
Image by ju Irun from Pixabay

Life at a startup is both fast and slow. Fast, because everything is possible and happening all at once! Slow, because the structure and process needed to make the company stronger takes years to build, in stages that feel incomplete from the inside. It isn’t something I lament. This follows the arc of all living things: we do something new, we learn, we do better next time… repeat.

This week, I celebrated my 2-year anniversary with Eightfold AI. I began this journey with big ideas about what I wanted to build and how I’d do it. Actually acting on those ideas has been humbling because reality has so many more constraints that we imagine when we plan. Earlier in my career, I would have been frustrated… and let’s be honest, I still get frustrated when things don’t go according to plan. But now I know that this is normal, and that I also gain opportunities with every unexpected development.

That feels good at a high level, but I also wanted to solidify what I learned. So I expanded on a simple project retro (what went well, what didn’t, what would have helped) to reflect on my personal contributions and growth. I’ll share a template at the bottom if you’re inspired to do this for yourself!

My 2-year reflection

What went well?

  • How did I contribute to that?

One of Eightfold’s strengths is that it has a whole suite of products that address the many different parts of the talent industry: acquisition (hiring), management, job search, and planning. This is also a challenge, because there’s a lot to manage.

During my time, the team has systematically improved the UX design of all our products. I was a huge part of that effort:

Published v1 content design system (standards, terms list, process)

  • This scaled CD by giving all teams guidance instead of having to come to me for everything

Supported a holistic redesign of one product with 14+ projects

  • This ensured high UX quality from a content perspective, which supported success for a major initiative
  • It also yielded “ideal” examples to add to standards and terms list (bonus value!)

I also observe a slow and steady trend towards better process. Teams are working better together because they’re following the same steps and know when to connect. (I won’t pretend this is perfect, but it’s trending upwards.) I added to this trend:

  • Mapped product development lifecycle with UX leads and aligned UX team to it
  • Evolved CD offerings and process based on that mapping

What could have gone better?

  • What was in my control to do differently?
  • What was not in my control?

The classic “building a plane while flying it” way of working meant that some of my content recommendations were lost. I pumped a lot of work into strategy and documentation, and it wasn’t always clear if it was considered. Tactically, there is copy that simply does not meet our standards or (where I gave hands-on support) my copy doc.

  • There wasn’t a whole lot more I could have done. As the only CD building up foundations, educating teams, and supporting prioritized work, gaps are expected and reasonable.
  • I can get stronger at analyzing and reporting on the gaps. This would equip me to step up as a leader and make organizational recommendations. Huge insight!

What would have helped?

  • Who can do something about it?

One huge learning was that my role is actually to consult and enable non-CDs to produce high quality content. I wish I realized this sooner (but maybe I’m being hard on myself, it’s reasonable that I had a learning curve). Huge insight!

  • This shifted the goal of office hours. Instead of improving copy in session, I ask questions that push product teams on their strategy for content along the user journey. They learn not to mash all the info into every space possible (there is no way to write worldclass content if the strategy is weak). They leave office hours equipped to revise content on their own.
  • This shifted the goal of CD foundations. Instead of developing guidance with high flexibility for experienced CDs to interpret, I now give very clear examples, do’s and don’ts, and content patterns. The flexible guidance is still there, but it is below the “copy and paste” guidance that teams can use to move quickly.

At the company level, it all goes back to process. I think there’s a balance between having a way to work that everyone in the org follows, and not creating unnecessary steps. We are going through some of the awkwardness of shifting the way we think and work, and teams that are used to being extremely agile regard process as a slowdown. That means we need education about process being a longterm investment and also, some time baked into product work to allow for that learning curve. People need support to change the way they work.

  • I think this is mostly a top-down solution. Our leadership has to steer this ship in a way that helps people evolve with the company.
  • The way I can help is by sharing my observations and insights as often and openly as possible. The bottom-up approach would support a mindset shift, but cannot take the place of leadership enforcing one clear way to work together.

How have I grown?

  • How do I want to grow in the year ahead?

Taking myself through this retro helps me see that I’ve gained perspective. Early-career Shirley would have complained about what others need to do, without separating out the layers of what their goals are, what the business goals are, and what the org is ready for. Some things can be fixed fast, and some things are slower. (Omg… I didn’t plan for this to come full circle with my opening line, but heyyy I’m a writer!)

I do feel good about how I’ve shown up in my role. I can grow in the year ahead by building up my leadership skills:

  • Analyze trends and patterns in how CD is needed and used
  • Build up a systems approach (instead of project by project)
  • Accept that I have to tell people no because of my plan and priorities (this is harrrrrd and a huge shift from IC mentality when my scope was more focused)

I see now that building a practice is different from building a team. Managing people would be a different learning curve. Even though I would have liked to hire more CDs to give products more coverage, the constraint of being the only resource sharpened my focus. I want to see this through in the upcoming year!

Tools and info to help you

I love turning insights into helpful things for other people! This is why I feel so lucky to have a career in UX design. Here’s a section that’s all about helping you.

Personal growth retro (template)

Set of prompts for self-guided reflection

What went well?

  • How did I contribute to that?

What could have gone better?

  • What was in my control to do differently?
  • What was not in my control?

What would have helped?

  • Who can do something about it?

How have I grown?

  • How do I want to grow in the year ahead?

More resources for personal growth

If you like the self-guided approach, check out this guide to build your career with strategic listening. I learned this from a fantastic manager at Meta and practice these tactics at every meeting to keep excelling!

If you want external support, I highly recommend career coaching. Make sure you interview coaches and choose someone whose style complements yours. A lot of people are great, but it matters who is great for you.

Some recommendations:

  • I worked with Frank Marquardt when I took on my lead role, and he helped me define what was important to me and build confidence to act on it. It was so empowering that it often got emotional!
  • Kate Pincott offers a coaching program for product designers
  • Janel Torkington offers mentorship sessions for UX writers / content designers through ADPList
  • I’ll add more as I find out who’s doing what!

As you continue on your own journey, I’ll leave you with the most important lesson I’ve learned and re-learned at every stage of my life: It’s going to be ok! Be kind to yourself.

--

--

Shirley Chan
0-to-1 Content Design

I’m a writer. I write things. I right wrongs. I don’t write wrongs.