#1 — Why I’m doing this

Armando Biondi
1,000 Whys
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2013

This question has been haunting me lately (and for “lately” I mean, like, the last 10 years), so easy to make yet so hard to answer. I used to have a diary; not when I was eight, I’m talking of a couple year ago. Then things went crazy… my life changed, more than one time actually, in more than one way, and I stopped doing several things that I loved. Things that I still love.

The excuse then was that I didn’t have time, which was true; and still is. But, and this is a big *BUT* written in capital letters, I also decided that not having time is not a good excuse anymore. I know, I know; I’m a bit weird sometimes. So I decided to get back to writing (one of the things that I love). Writing a blog. Ok. But a blog on what? On challenges, on life, on angles able to reveal untold stories.

Names are challenging; they have power. I was thinking of calling this “Lesson Learned”, but then I found out that: a) it was already taken, b) it was already a blog, c) it was Eric Ries’ Blog… which is just -well- a liiiiittle more famous than me. So I thought: why am doing this? And I came up with this name, which is maybe better (happy to know your thoughts). I defined some rules as well.

First rule: no more than 500 words, because -hey- we’re all busy nowadays. Why 500? That’s for you to guess, and for me to know. Second rule: consider this a list, something similar to the TV serie “my name is Earl” -love it! so horribly funny- each time deep diving into a different ‘Why’. Third rule: bring in some data, not only stories. Fourth rule: four it’s too much, let’s stick with three.

“Whys” are everywhere, if we only look for them, while way too often we don’t realize it at all. So, please, stop for a moment and hold your breath. Why do you do what you do? Why do you feel how you feel? Why are you where you actually are? If the answers are not good enough, please change them. Do it now. You’ve been deserving it for a long time. Let’s talk more in some days, hope to find you there.

--

--

Armando Biondi
1,000 Whys

Cofounder @BreadcrumbsIO (prev. Cofounder @AdEspresso, acquired by @Hootsuite). Board Member, Guest Contributor, former Radio Host. Investor in ~250 startups.