What and Why SMaSH?

My First Single Malt and Single Hops Homebrew Recipe

Rob King
1-Gallon Home Brew
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2023

--

SMaSH — Single Malt and Single Hops

What is SMaSH?

SMaSH is a beer brewed from a Single Malt and a Single variety of Hops, it’s that simple.

Within this apparent simplicity is endless complexity. There are no style limitations, no limitations on quantity, or time, all of which can influence the flavour and aroma of the final result.

Why SMaSH?

SMaSH is a popular option that can result in some rather tasty beers, if you haven’t taken the plunge here are a few consideration reasons why.

1. Understanding Ingredients

This is easily the most common answer given when asking ‘why SMaSH?’.

SMaSH allows you to focus on the flavour and aroma provided by a specific malt and a specific hop. Brewing a SMaSH while varying only a single factor (in addition to malt and hops, factors may also include yeast, water chemistry, temperatures or the time taken for mash, boil, fermentation or conditioning).

2. It’s great for beginners

While certainly not limited to beginners, with only two ingredients, it’s easier for beginners to focus on the process of home brewing over the ingredients.

3. Lower Cost

The simplicity of the grain and hop bill can be very cost-effective (depending on your choices). Generally, it allows you to use up your spare supply of malt or hops before they get too old

4. The chance to experiment

If you’re interested in using a specific grain or hops in a future brew, but uncertain about the impact it will have, SMaSH provides a small-scale opportunity to test it out and understand the impact on body, flavour and aroma that it will have

Introducing My First SMaSH: The Fuggled Otter

I had two ingredients in plentiful supply, so I chose them:

  1. 1.3Kg Marris Otter Malt
  2. 50g UK Fuggle Hops

5 Litre Recipe

Using Brewfather to record the recipe

Rob’s Fuggled Otter Smash Recipe on BrewFather

Watch It All from Grain to Glass here:

Happy Homebrewing
Cheers, Rob

I am currently on a homebrew learning journey. My first homebrew was a gift, an all-grain kit which I brewed in February 2022. I was immediately hooked. As I write this article, I’m just planning for my first brew of 2023, homebrew No. 22.

The “Fuggled Otter” SMaSH was my 13th brew day in July 2022. I’m sharing my step-by-step guides, progress, mistakes and lessons learned on YouTube, TikTok and articles here on Medium.

--

--

Rob King
1-Gallon Home Brew

Author, Change Leader, co-Founder of Wzard Innovation, Lean Six Sigma & RPA Consultant, Public Speaker, Facilitator, Moderator, Home Brew novice & big movie fan