DAY 19: Tales Of Planned Break-Ups And Not Sticking To The Plan

Day 19 Of How To Move On From A Man — 1LD

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
1 Lovelock Drive
Published in
3 min readFeb 23, 2023

--

Image created on Canva

I knocked on the door of Douglas’ apartment.

Already my plan to survive this breakup and be the winner had gone down the toilet.

I wanted a neutral territory to host our conversation, somewhere neither one of us felt comfortable with. And instead, I found myself on his home turf.

Bad start, I told myself. I could recover though.

He opened the door and leaned in to kiss my cheek. I pulled back. I didn’t want him to touch me. Contact would be bad right now.

It wouldn’t help my resolve.

I outstretched my hand and pushed him away from his chest. “Let’s not pretend we’re something we’re not, ok?” He didn’t argue with me.

“Do you want a drink?”

Douglas already had a glass of wine set out for me, but I refused.

“No, I don’t want to stay long.”

He pointed to the outdoor patio for us to sit and talk. I thought the warm night air wasn’t a bad idea, but it wasn’t exactly conducive to making a swift getaway. There was another thing on the plan going wrong.

--

--

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
1 Lovelock Drive

I’m here to use my wins and losses in #relationships as your cautionary tale | Writes 1LD; Cautionary tale women's fiction | https://linktr.ee/ellenjellymcrae