Why I Can’t Quite Love the Third Doctor

Snop Adelic
1 Lucky Day
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2020

Jon Pertwee’s Doctor Is the Most Alien To Me

As a child I have fond memories of Doctor Who and the Daleks. In the U.K. both films were often shown on Saturday mornings. I think that was my first experience with Doctor Who.

Peter Davison was my Doctor. The cricket-loving blonde-haired hero of the ’80s (well, if you’re a Doctor Who fan.) I also have vague memories of Tom Baker falling off a big tower and Cybermen. These two were interlocked with my dog having puppies. I was under five, I think the memories cheats.

At some point, I discovered there were other Doctors and I was excited. At some point, I discovered Jon Pertwee. I didn’t understand. To be fair even now I still don’t understand.

  • Why is the console outside of the Tardis?

This makes no sense and there is no explanation. It clearly doesn’t fit through the doors. Even if it did how was it picked up? This was a biggie. It still makes no sense to me

  • Where are the normal people?

By this I mean the non scientist or non army people. The only other people that exist are farmers (I think). Or what the middle class production team thought working class sounded like. This is very worrying part of the Era. Spearhead, Claws of Axons and The Three Doctors all contain this character. He’s basically walked off the set of the Two Ronnies. It’s really odd, insulting and down- right strange. It makes an unpleasant viewing experience.

To me Pertwee Doctor is set in the most alien era. Maybe the seventies was just a strange era?

--

--

Snop Adelic
1 Lucky Day

I’m a Single mum of 2 amazing boys. A taxi driver and a Doctor Who obsessive