What even is an ISBN and why do I need it to publish my book?

Help and information on the all important ISBN for publishing. Book 1 in my ISBN series.

Fern-Leta Mowots
1-minute-reads
2 min read1 day ago

--

ISBN on the back of a book. Picture taken from the creative commons.

You are thinking about publishing a book in the future but your kind of new to the scene. Then you hear people talking about ISBN and now you want a little help and information. I got you.

Ever since I heard of ISBN I have been researching and researching and researching. I know all the options for my book. I’m going to tell you what they are for your book.

What is an ISBN then?

ISBN stands for International Standard Book Number. It exists to identify your book and is a unique code that only your book has.

In this ever increasing data focused world you cannot tell me that you are surprised that people can’t identify books by the title and author but need a code to do so.

Why is an ISBN important?

The only people who don’t need an ISBN are people who are not planning on publishing a book. If you just want to give a self made book to your friends and family: don’t bother getting an ISBN.

If you do want to publish, then the ISBN becomes your title. It helps customers find your book and sellers to sell them. If you want to get your book out there, you need an ISBN.

What about different publishing types?

If you are going to be traditionally published, then they should handle this for you. Small press, Mid press and the Big Five. They will all give you your ISBN.

If your going to be a self-publishing author, like everything else, you have to organise and pay for this. For every separate edition of your book (e-book, paperback and hardback) you need a separate ISBN. Digital audiobooks don’t need one.

Any last questions?

You have to pay? How much is it? Where can I buy it? Do I have to spend money? How do I know how many to buy? Don’t worry, I have a few other articles answering that.

Free ISBN: Self-Publishing platforms offer free ISBN but you can bet that there are drawbacks! | by Fern-Leta Mowots | 1-minute-reads | Aug, 2024 | Medium

For cost in the UK.

Places to save money in the UK.

Scams to avoid.

Case studies to compare your books needs to.

Sorry for the wait but these articles don’t write themselves.

--

--

Fern-Leta Mowots
1-minute-reads

I aspire to be an author and am currently working on a book. I will give you a number of pieces on subjects I am passionate about.