My First Week on Medium: One Down Many More to Go

Five lessons I’ve learned so far and how much I made as a newbie in my first week on the platform.

T.S. Johnson
Med Daily

--

Hello Medium. Nice to Meet You.

I finally took the plunge and started writing on Medium; something I had been meaning to do for a long time and just kept forgetting about it.

Well, this week (for reasons I may go into later) I finally took the plunge. Here’s a recap of my first week on Medium, the five lessons I learned, and what I plan on doing next.

1. Don’t import your articles

While I don’t believe this was always the case, importing articles means no one will look at them to be curated. It took me several articles and a couple of experiments later to realize that.

Eventually, however, I re-uploaded all the imported articles except for one (it had decent views and fans), and half of them were curated. Clearly, I missed the memo about importing articles.

Speaking of curation…

2. Curation is a black box, but a crackable one

It actually isn’t hard to get curated.

--

--