I Miss Bob(s)

Missing pieces: The 10-day challenge

Paul Coogan
10 in 10 Challenge

--

Today is day seven of a 10-day writing challenge. There is not too much to say about the challenge as the only requirement is to write and publish for 10 consecutive days. That in itself is enough of a challenge as my usual cadence is three to four a week.

Bob one is my dad. He had a difficult life growing up but rarely spoke of it. He was born with a cleft palate which had been repaired to a barely noticeable scar on his upper lip but left him with a nasal voice. I was not able to hear this in his voice but other children pointed it out to me in the cruel way kids are known for. In the late 60’s he grew a full beard but then transitioned to a mustache in the 80’s which he kept for the remainder of his life.

Father and son. Photo by the author.

His quiet nature led him to be the more contemplative of my parents leaving space for the outsized personality of my mother. His childhood as the underdog also gave him great compassion for those less privileged making him an ally before the term was coined.

His support was without fanfare. I recall camping trips with the Chapelles as well as potlucks and one backyard breakfast where Mr. Chapelle asked how big I wanted my pancake. The outstretched arms of a 5-year-old described the size of my eyes but not my stomach and he had a good laugh as I attempted to complete the…

--

--

Paul Coogan
10 in 10 Challenge

(he/him/his) Project Manager, Artist, and Data Visualization/Activist Geek