100 and Under

What I Learned from My Grandmother About Fall

B A Little, M.Ed. - The Caffeinated Writer
Evolve
2 min readOct 20, 2021

--

100 and Under Fall Competition

Photo by Dilyara Garifullina on Unsplash

I wondered why my grandparents always planted new crops about halfway through the summer.

While we were picking tomatoes, Granddaddy was planting again. He planted pumpkins, winter squash, funny looking cabbage, and assorted other plants.

When those winds of fall starting blowing and leaves starting turning colors, the other vegetables were ready for picking.

Oh, I remember the smells of pumpkin pies, butternut squash soup, and then there were the apples.

Grandmother could make a meal from just a bunch of stuff from the garden and it tasted so good. We never wanted for food. It may sometimes be less, but it always hit the spot. We were not picky eaters. No time for that.

I also learned to can from my Grandmother. In the fall that pressure cooker would heat up the house and the aroma would fill your nostrils. Apple jelly, apple sauce, apple pie filling. All the things that we would need in the coming months.

She is long since gone, but the knowledge that she passed on to me will never fade. I have, in turn, taught my daughters in-laws some of the old recipes and ways of planning ahead.

You never know when you will need that knowledge.

Please check out this article on 100 and Under:

--

--

B A Little, M.Ed. - The Caffeinated Writer
Evolve

Writer, reader, copywriter, photographer, retired teacher, cancer journey. Read All About It, True Crime Thirst, Finance Everyday, Mental Health CH. Top Writer