Sell AIGC Art on Etsy — Passive Income Hacks

Insights and Strategies Share

Bright Potato
4 min readApr 10, 2024

Last month, I kicked off my own Etsy shop, selling unique wallpapers for phones and iWatch, all made using AI. I’m not the first to sell digital art, but I want to share what got me started and how I run my shop.

Why start this business?

I wanted a shop that didn’t need shipping, thinking it’d be a good way to learn about running a business. Starting simple, I could get the hang of things while figuring out what American consumers like on Etsy and social media platforms like TikTok and Instagram today. Apart from aiming to turn this shop into a future source of passive income for myself, I also envision it as an ideal entry point, especially for individuals unfamiliar with business operations.

What’s important in running a digital art shop:

In my initial research on Etsy, I found that many shop owners follow the widely recognized strategy: “70% product selection, 30% operation.” This highlights the priority of product strategy over operational tactics on the platform. However, I observed digital products like wallpapers have a limited presence, constituting a small fraction of site traffic. To succeed in this niche, innovative design alone isn’t enough; strategic use of social media is essential for visibility and feedback. Going forward, I’ll focus on refining my skills in social media operation and brand development to strengthen my shop presence in the market.

Workflow methodology:

  1. Utilize Midjourney for art creation, and refine the designs through Zoom Adjustments and Targeted Modifications.
  2. Employ Upscale Creative to generate images of the highest resolution.
  3. Retouch AI-generated Art: Fine-tune color balance and brightness in Photoshop, and modify designs by adding quotes or additional elements.
  4. Create Wallpaper Mockups for various devices
  5. Develop promotional content on Canva, integrating the shop’s logo and textual elements.
  6. Launch the product on Etsy and share short promotional videos via Instagram Reels and TikTok.

Optimization insights:

The pivotal advancements in my workflow involved integrating online mockup resources and creating a customized GPT assistant for my own. I believe Mockup tools like these are designed by individuals who are also active in selling AIGC Ar t😁, recently observing user demands in this field, and are currently available for a free trial. They enable individuals like myself, without a design background or proficiency in Photoshop, to easily access design mockups.

Here are two mockup tools I most frequently use:

  1. Shots. So
  2. Wallpaper Mockup (This is a Chinese website but you can also use some great templates)

Additionally, I developed my own GPT assistant to expedite the generation of content required for Etsy listings and product-based social media posts. This tool significantly enhances content operational efficiency by eliminating the need to repeatedly ask GPT the same questions and specify requirements. I highly recommend that social media content creators develop their own GPT assistants tailored to their needs as early as possible, as it can result in substantial time savings.

Here is the GPT assistant I developed: Etsy Boost Marketer. Feel free to use it and boost your productivity if you also running a business on Etsy.

Market Trends and Insights for Digital Wallpapers

Over the past month, my exploration revealed that Etsy’s preferred electronic wallpaper genres include:

  1. Minimalist designs with monochromatic bases and subtle patterns, crisp textures with clean lines
  2. Hand-drawn illustrations portraying serene landscapes or animals,
  3. Visually captivating AI-generated artworks such as papercraft or paintings.
  4. Floral motifs and unique interpretations of Van Gogh’s Starry Night are particularly popular across various wallpaper outlets.
  5. Custom designs, especially those featuring pets or children, exhibit significant market appeal.

Initially, my design approach was heavily influenced by personal aesthetics, which I later recognized as a potential barrier to optimizing shop traffic due to misalignment with Etsy user preferences. This realization emphasized the importance of blending market trends with individual artistic expression.

Two Operational Lessons from the 1st month:

1. Remind Your Customers of the Human Creativity in the AI Art Creation Process

On Instagram and TikTok, I’ve noticed a noticeable skepticism towards AI-generated art, often perceived as lacking the authenticity and effort of traditional creations. Therefore, in the realm of AI art commerce, emphasizing the human element in creation is crucial. Showcase that these pieces, while AI-assisted, are imbued with unique artistic intent. This narrative is particularly vital on Etsy, a marketplace that values craftsmanship. It should be communicated across social media channels to dispel consumer apprehensions about the value of AI-crafted art.

2. Maximizing Customer Acquisition

The core of business lies in effectively selling your products or services, with a focus on acquiring customers and analyzing their demands. Prioritizing these strategic actions over minor details on operation and design materials in the early stage of business development is crucial. Neglecting broader operational and promotional aspects can impede success.

Looking ahead:

Having laid the groundwork for product display and social media engagement, I’m now ready to elevate my operational processes. This involves allocating more resources to market research and technological innovation, as well as crafting promotional materials during downtimes. A profound understanding of consumer needs and efficient traffic generation continue to be vital for commercial success.

I remain committed to sharing my journey and insights to shed light on the AI art sales landscape. Stay tuned to my blog for ongoing updates and valuable learnings!

Thanks for reading! // Follow Orange Chen for more sparkles!

--

--

Bright Potato

👋 I blend my creativity with AI to create unique art crafts. Join me as I share my journey in small business and personal branding. 🥔 ✨