Fear Dissolves…

A Lesson in Swimming

Caleb Hale
The Hundred Photo Journal
1 min readSep 13, 2018

--

Fujifilm X-T2 • f/2, 1/250, 35mm, ISO 400

Each summer my children get a little less afraid of the water, and a little better at maneuvering in it. Thankfully, I’m no longer listening to shrieks of terror, but the poolside ambiance hasn’t gotten any quieter, especially if you add a few of their friends.

My job is simply to “watch this.”

Pool time pictures are a summer staple between my wife and I. And each year as the children get braver, the images become a bit more interesting. My favorite remains catching them break the surface (I like to show them their faces).

Swim lessons didn’t factor into their progress. My son had a handful of them when he was younger, way back in the terror phase. They didn’t help. What did was summer after summer of afternoons spent in the pool, letting them get familiar and comfortable on their own terms. After a few years, the fear just dissolved in the water around them.

The Hundred Photo Journal is a personal photographic collection, documenting precisely 100 images made. It’s presented publicly for accountability, as I often labor under the delusion people are actually paying attention. All images collected here are made with Fujifilm cameras, my weapons of choice in photography.

--

--