A letter to my younger self !

Kamal Kalra
100 days Challenge
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2017

I am 33 years old, and it’s been almost 13 years that I left college. The memories of those days are still as fresh as it was just last year. All the memories came rushing through when one of my college friends asked me to share the learnings I had from college. And as a part of my #100dayschallenge, here I am sharing my story with all !

Take care of present, future shall take care of itself.

Dear Kamal,

This is your older self, and I want to mentor you for your current life. Well, I know not everybody gets a chance like this, so you better make the best out of it. Let me share a few learnings, I’ve had from future and they shall help you become a better person today. So, without further ado, here are a few things I want you to start doing now.

Respect your time : Yes, I know you are young and restless, but time is a thing that you will miss the most in the future. Believe me, you won’t regret missing out on a movie, or a date, but you’ll surely regret wasting the time. Don’t waste it unncessarily, On Facebook, or on Instagram, youtube, videos, movies … everything else can take a back seat, except your life.

  1. Discipline : Discipline is the most underrated skill but once you’ll grow up, you will realise that it’s most important. You will have to be disciplined sooner or later. If not for yourself, than for your family, or for your profession or may be for your hobby. I know you have heard this from dad and mom so many times, but you will soon know the importance yourself.
  2. Live in the moment : I know you are someone who’s always lost either in the past or in the future. But, living in the moment is going to make all the difference. You can’t bring your present back and future can’t be predicted so it’s better to live in the current moment. Take care of your present and future will take care of itself.
  3. Make friends : The best friendships happen in the schools and colleges, cos, tomorrow you will only have acquaintances. So, go ahead and learn to forgive people quickly, and make as many friends as you can.
  4. Don’t be afraid to fail : One of the most overrated thing in your life is failure, you know, failure in exams, failure in love, failure in sports, and no matter what. But I want to break this myth for you, you will soon learn that failure is the most exciting thing in future. It will lead you to new possibilities, it will open door for new opportunities and it shall become the stepping stone for success. So, don’t give too much heed to failures.

I hope you will learn from your future and make your present worth while.

Yours Truly,

Future Self.

If you liked this blog, do recommend and share to show your support.

Follow #100dayschallenge for regular stories.

--

--

Kamal Kalra
100 days Challenge

An avid reader and a mindful Entrepreneur. Learning to live, 1 step at a time