small pink octopus [1/100]

Electra Chong
100 Days of Crochet (+ maybe knitting)
2 min readSep 11, 2017

It’s been a while since I crocheted, so I wanted to start off with a small and easy project that I could finish quickly.

Before the mouth was sewn on.

mohumohu is responsible for the design for this little guy, and you can find the free pattern here: http://blog.mohumohu.com/post/117524437877/amigurumi-octopus-pattern

It’s been long enough that I had to look up how to do a magic ring again and invisible decrease. Here’s the video/resources I used:

For the invisible decrease, I like Planet June’s helpful guide:
https://www.planetjune.com/blog/amigurumi-help/invisible-decrease/

He’s a cute little bugger and reminds me of the little jelly-fish dolls that are created by Tsukimi and company in Kuragehime. Maybe I’ll do a jellyfish amigurumi down the line!

Modeled on my sister’s head (complete with the mouth).

I pinned some ideas for projects while searching for quick and easy ones, so if you’re interested in what else I might do: https://www.pinterest.com/electrachong/crochet/
I’ll likely continue to do small, cute and quick projects for a while before I take up larger projects.

Some in-progress photos:

The inside at row 4
What ends up being the outside at row 4
After rows 5–8
Stuffed and with eyes sewn in, before the legs are attached.

Sorry I’m so lazy to properly resize and color edit the obviously phone-taken photos!

--

--

Electra Chong
100 Days of Crochet (+ maybe knitting)

Software eng @grovecollab. I like art, rpgs, sci-fi/fantasy & josei manga! V●ᴥ●V @scrippscollege ’15, @holbertonschool ‘18.