On optimism

I’m just trying to keep it real

Lindsay McComb
McPrecht
2 min readDec 15, 2015

--

by Paul Taylor

I went to a design prototyping workshop today at design consultancy, and had a fine time. It was fine. Just fine. But I could tell that some of the other attendees were there with stars in their eyes. They were enamored with everything about the space and the people who worked there and the 3D models and OMG sticky notes everywhere!

I thought it was fine.

The staff involved with the workshop were lovely. But they were way too enthusiastic about everything.

I sent a text to David saying, “I think I’m too cynical to ever work here.”

I was expecting that he’d agree with me and then we would make some Curb Your Enthusiasm-esque jokes and that’d be that.

Except he didn’t agree with me at all. He told me that he didn’t think I was cynical at all. Yeah, I may see things without the rose-tinted glasses, but that just makes me a realist. I’m not lazy, and I work hard to change myself and to make positive changes in the world. I hope for the best, but I always have a contingency plan. Always have a strong plan B.

We talked about it later and he mentioned the idea that the only people he’s known in his life that were actually pessimistic were lazy — they didn’t do things because “what’s the point?” Why apply to that job, you’re not going to get it anyway? Why bother fighting against an injustice, there’s no way you can win.

It’s not that I don’t have hope, it’s just that it seems like optimism in our culture is equated with this unbridled enthusiasm and saccharine-sweet happiness.

Can’t I be hopeful without being so damn happy about it?

--

--

Lindsay McComb
McPrecht

Design researcher and content strategist who enjoys damn fine cups of coffee.