42 is just a number

Matjaž Šircelj
100 Days of Writing Challenge
1 min readSep 26, 2017

Is life inherently meaningless? That doesn’t mean our lives are meaningless. It means that meaning is not given to us. We have to give our life a meaning.

Painters see meaning in their paintings.

Musicians see their meaning in songs they compose or play.

Parents see their meaning in their children.

I see it in learning, in knowledge. I see it in enjoying life, in art, culture in writing. Sharing things I learn. Having fun with people I love.

Meaning also doesn’t have to be just one. Most people I know and who they have very meaningful lives have also more than one meaning. Children, music, teaching, writing, hiking… All in one person.

We shouldn’t try to find that one perfect thing in life, one job, career or just one focus.

We should try to create a mosaic of our interests, talents, passions and meanings.

This post is part 4. of my 100 Days of Writing Challenge.

--

--