Flow your tasks

Matjaž Šircelj
100 Days of Writing Challenge
2 min readDec 20, 2017

Ah, that nice flow of thoughts, when work is like a breeze and you feel confident in what you do, there is no tough way, only cool way…

That are great moments at work, but they are not always available. Why? Well, it’s kinda our own fault. So what are we doing wrong?

  1. Multitasking. My own saying is:

Multitasking is the ability to screw up several things at once.

Should I say more?

2. Lack of focus. We are only half in on the task, partly paying attention. You know what? Without focus the task will take longer, it will get boring or the anxiety will kick in and the end result is gonna suck.

3. Lack of sleep. You think big chess players have a “creative” all-nighters? They probably have a routine in sleep. Maybe even a routine in most daily activities. As much as routine sound boring, it might be one of the best ways to productivity.

4. Value out of alignment. The thing we do in our life should have meaning. Should be aligned with our world view. Should be something we can believe in. In my own experience, when I work on something I believe can have a positive impact, I have no problem giving an extra push, effort, walking that extra mile. And the things I don’t believe in, I end up rejecting, even dismissing the project or terminating cooperation.

5. Procrastination. Lack of interest. That one is one of the most common ones. I think that we don’t procrastinate because we are lazy. We procrastinate because we have no interest in the task at hand. Things that don’t interest us, will be pushed down the “I’ll do it tomorrow” line.

--

--