How to clean your virtual world

Matjaž Šircelj
100 Days of Writing Challenge
2 min readNov 15, 2017

Every now and then, I feel like cleaning. Not just my apartment, not just the outside world.

I clean my virtual world.

I clean my computer. I run a cleaner program, I empty my bin, I delete recent files and browser history. I even delete old files that I’m not using anymore or were just temporary, drafts or notes.

Lately, cleaning becomes detoxifying. It’s not just cleaning, but also removing everything unwanted or distracting from my (virtual) life.

Twitter: unfollowing people who really have no respect, decency or common sense anymore. And there is more and more people like that. Removing and unfollowing lists, likes and connections to things that interested me for a while, but I grew tired of them.

Facebook: unfollowing and/unfriending people I don’t have nothing in common anymore or they’ve turned into “politicians”, know-it-alls, pushing intolerant their beliefs onto others. Also removing brands and pages from Likes that I really don’t like, but I once liked them because someone I knew sent me a like request.

Above all, I try to be aware how much time I spend on social media and how does my social media feed look like.

It’s also important to know that my social media feed is my information bubble, so this is not the only truth. That’s why I have some tests accounts and I also try to read topics of interests from different sides, especially if they’re about politics. Perhaps it was always this way, but lately I see politics even in tech sector, choosing sides, what’s better and not, and actors on both sides feeling like little gods.

Well, rereading this post I don’t know if it has some sense or not. My point is probably just to be aware, awake and responsible about what comes into our reading field. We have limited time. Why not use it to learn and read good content? And, don’t forget about curiosity.

Till tomorrow. Today is day 54 of my 100 Days of Writing Challenge.

--

--