Job or Freelance

Matjaž Šircelj
100 Days of Writing Challenge
2 min readNov 20, 2017

I woke up late today. Slowly making myself a coffee. Checking scheduled things I prepared yesterday evening. Yes, Sunday evening, that is. I check my business email, open gmail. Brief breakfast, long coffee and my life in a computer starts a new working day.

Years have passed since I had to wake up early every day, go on a bus, a train, and start working in an office with my coworkers. I loved those days. Sure, it was a bit of a pain waking up at 5 a.m., but getting to office in another city was an adventure of its own. I even fell in love once on a train. And lost her name from my memory years later. Train was always full, sometimes too hot, sometimes too cold. but all was bearable, since I was not alone on it. I was with my fellow sufferers, sharing a destiny of that morning.

As a freelancer, my workday is dynamic, my work hours scheduled by my own discretion. I can work whenever I want, make my afternoons off if I want, I can even skip a day if I really try. But I’m always online even on a skipped day. Because I carry my work extension in my pocket, I can work from my phone for the basic stuff. Since I work mainly online, people also expect I am always online, always available. Even on Sunday mornings.

Right now, I’m not sure which way of work and life I prefer. After seven years of freelancing I’m leaning in to a steady job. I guess I should rethink things.

--

--