Own Your Weird

Matjaž Šircelj
100 Days of Writing Challenge
2 min readSep 25, 2017

Our upbringing, school and society develops our identity. Everything we represent on the outside, is a reflection of what we learn and experience. But, a lot of times, we struggle. We struggle with motivation to continue to be that, because we sense there is something wrong. We start asking ourselves if this is really who we are?

Most of the time, we don’t do anything. Simple reason — fear. Fear of losing our job, spouse, friends… We fail to see the broader view into the future. And that is there will be no brighter future if we let inauthentic people, events and ideas control our lives.

I’ve learned a long time ago that listening to myself is the best way to go. Is it easier? No. Is it better? Yes. Is it worthwhile? Yes. I sleep better, I am more myself, I connect with people I like, I have more self-respect and I am a better human being for myself and people around me.

Everyone of us is a unique person. So why do we listen to our fears and try to be like everyone else? Those who love us, take us for what we are. Those who don’t, don’t care. The things we like to do, stay with us and makes us better. The things we don’t like, fall away or we can change our circumstances.

Do you really want to spend you life faking it just because you are afraid to be alone, or not having a steady job all the time, or trying to be perfect for others and forgetting your true self? Or do you want to own your differences and start living in your own truth?

This post is part 3. of my 100 Days of Writing Challenge.

--

--