Skill + Challenge = Flow

Matjaž Šircelj
100 Days of Writing Challenge
2 min readNov 29, 2017

As far as I can remember and through all my career I was always intrigued with new, exciting, entrepreneurial ideas. Whether it be in tech, communications area or even in farming, ecology or at home.

Whatever I was working on, I was always striving to do it the best I can, even if I didn’t know how to at that time. I saw and I took challenges. I said yes more often that I probably sometimes should, but I was involved in a lot of amazing projects, fun events and some ideas that did social good.

I always look for that feeling of challenge. Through years I learned a lot of different skills and all they need sometimes is a push, a greater challenge than I can be really sure I can do at this moment. But, of course, the greater and broader experiences I get, the more confident I can be in achieving my goals.

This is my way of flow. Mihály Csíkszentmihályi was talking about the flow as the combination of skills and challenges. And I think he was right. If we combine what we are good at with the goal we want to achieve, that vision of a goal drives us, becomes our passion, our mission.

For me, happiness really means something to create, to do, to achieve, to aspire. As the 32nd U.S. President put it:

Happiness lies in the joy of achievement and the thrill of creative effort. Franklin D. Roosevelt

Quotefancy

Day 68 of my 100 Days of Writing Challenge.

--

--