What makes you move?

Matjaž Šircelj
100 Days of Writing Challenge
2 min readOct 6, 2017

What makes you go places, run far and show your face to unknown?

For me, it started with curiosity. I was endlessly curious about computers, operating systems, you know, geek stuff. I landed a summer job in IT, that became my first career.

I fell in love a year later. My job, being away from home, combined with this strange pulling to be closer to love, translated in me moving to the city.

Then it was the experience. Experience was a natural consequence of learning on the job, having fun and traveling with my friends, and the reason to keep moving forward. To try everything I can at and around my life. To learn everything that can be of use to my life, job and fun, and to satisfy my hunger for knowledge. Experience became my modus operandi. Try everything, sings Shakira.

After years of experience I became an expert at various fields and skills. I started to write, teach, consult. Sharing is caring, they say. And as social media come into the light, sharing became my passion. I wanted to share all that I have learned, I wanted to help those on the same path as I was, I wanted to contribute to business community and society.

“The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious.”

― Albert Einstein

Then the ambition kicked in. To be the best at my job. To show off. To be the best. Better than the others. To compete with my friends and enemies. Ego. Not the best thing in life, but it’s part of growing. Growing up and growing out of the shell, made by expectations of society.

What do you do after two decades of work, play and experiencing life on many levels of success, ups and downs, travel and being stuck at moments, moving fast and getting bored, thriving and struggling, having a steady job and freelancing, working from the office or from home, painting your face with a smile and hiding the truth that you really need change and start moving in a more meaningful direction?

I don’t know. I’m seeking. Looking for clues, sometimes for escape, another times just looking forward to the weekend and most of the times, feeling unhappy, if happiness even is a feeling. It’s a just word. Meaning? I don’t know. I. Don’t. Know.

What I do know is that I need change. So I try new things. New projects. Hobbies. I go out and meet new people. If only someone would hand me the answers on a silver platter. But it doesn’t work like that. I have to find my own answers. Even if at the end the answer is 42.

Deep Thought Gallery (image from Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy)

This post is part 14. of my 100 Days of Writing Challenge.

--

--