Flying in the Sky Hand in Hand

Sky: Children of the Light

natsumi kajii
2 min readJul 16, 2020

It has been raining for more than two weeks. It is depressing to see the heavy gray sky day after day when I wake up. So, I tried to escape.

Where to go?

Usually, I watch foreign movies in order to escape from reality, and I did the same this time, but then I found another effective way — playing an immersive game like Sky.

Sky: Children of the Light is an adventure game developed and published by Thatgamecompany. Its graphics are amazingly beautiful. Wearing a magical cape, a player can fly in its realms. It was like I was a heroine in one of the Ghibli animated films, flying in the sky freely. Although, since the game was so immersive, I even experienced symptoms like motion sickness.

In the game, you can easily make friends with other players. I chatted a little with a Chinese player and then we held hands with each other. I stopped controlling my motions, but started jumping and flying around gracefully because he/she led me by the hand. Again, it was like I was in one of the Ghibli films.

I did not imagine playing a game could be such an immersive experience. With virtual reality technology, it could become much more immersive. In that case, however, I may need motion sickness drugs to play a game.

Originally published on Lang-8. I thank hodo for correcting my English.

--

--

natsumi kajii

Interested in photography, coffee, and language learning. Love cats and goldfish. PhD in experimental psychology. Translator living in Kanazawa, Japan.