86 — Poroshiri-dake 2052 m

Ann van den Borne
100 Mountains of Japan
4 min readNov 9, 2023

17 July 2023

Start & end point: +42.791549, +142.633217

Distance covered: 27.1 km

Time: 8h 55

Vertical gain/descent: 2431 m

Weather & Visibility: cloudy, foggy, windy

Good For: remoteness, wildlife, surrounded by mountains in all directions

Delighted to be back in the land of the rising sun after a year in the big city, the first mountain on my list was one I had tried twice in my last month in Hokkaido. Under the “hyakumeizan” (100 famous mountains of Japan), climbers known to be the most remote of them all mount Poroshiri in the Hidaka range. I stayed with Neil & Raluca-san, colleagues from Hokkaido International School, and got their car and Neil to accompany me on this mission.

We decided to take it easy and made it a two-day mission. I got one of those lightweight tents from America and was eager to test it. After a short but beautiful jumping on stones in a river kind of hike, we found a suitable camping place and called it a night. After a restful sleep, loads of bear jokes, and a delicious combini breakfast, we were ready for the summit.

Below are some pictures of me trying to tick off Mounth Poroshiri on June 4th, 2022.

--

--

Ann van den Borne
100 Mountains of Japan

I’m Ann, an international Physical & Outdoor Ed teacher, climbing the famous 100 mountains of Japan.