10) Writing time

A story of solitude

Eric Turner
100 Naked Words
2 min readMar 8, 2017

--

I was thinking about writing the other day. I don’t mean that I was thinking about picking up a pen and writing things, I mean I was thinking about the act of writing and what it does for me.

Personally, writing allows me a second to some time by myself. Before hitting “publish” on any piece, every writer is just sitting there, focused, and alone. You are all out there doing the same as me, typing on a blank page to a blank audience.

The people aren’t here. It’s time for me to spend some time in solitude, reflecting on life, where I’m headed, where I’ve been, etc. Writing is amazing because it’s a time where I can be alone but also create something that other people can eventually share.

I hope you are able to bask in the moment, as I did while writing this. There’s so much more thought that goes onto a page. Although sometimes it’s everything that was removed that tells the real story of the person behind the keyboard.

If you enjoyed this article, please hit the heart button. This allows more people to see it on medium. Thanks for making my day!

Follow Me!

The Vault

1 . 2 . 3 . 4 . 5 . 6 . 7 . 8 . 9

--

--

Eric Turner
100 Naked Words

Husband. Father. Friend. Social Worker. Life is messy. Come along for the ride! Also, check out Medium membership! https://medium.com/@eturn102/membership