11: Party of One

Drew Potter
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJul 6, 2016
dinner for one by Sam Dakota http://samdakota.tumblr.com/

I’m at an age where most off my friends are partnering of and creating families. It’s really beautiful to see. It’s also really lonely.

Some people that I used to spend a lot of time with are now tied down by baby feeding schedules. Some people that I used to hang out with are wrapped up in creating a life with their partner. Some people that I used to go hiking with, dancing with, dining with (or whatever) are busy living their life without me.

We still get together sometimes for dinner and adult conversation. It’s always really great to be able to catch up. But then the baby starts crying and it is time to go home. They pack up their kid and partner and head back to their home. I pack up my phone that won’t be ringing and head back to my home — where nobody is waiting for me.

I never got the head’s up email about how lonely this part of life can be.

I better check the spam box.

--

--

Drew Potter
100 Naked Words

Meditation. Yoga. Vegan. Food/Herbs as medicine. Champion of Compassion. Thinker.