11. Stop Sharing. Start Creating.

Baldomero Montes de Oca
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJul 29, 2016

I was that guy on Facebook that shared a ton of information. Most of it was articles and videos on entrepreneurship and self-improvement. If it could add value to others lives you bet I shared it. The best feeling, or so I thought, was when a friend would comment on my post, “Thanks for Sharing” or “Love this.” I was getting the affirmation of others through their comments. I was receiving ego gratification through this. Here was my problem: none of it was my content. I hadn’t created anything. Truthfully, I wish I had created the content, I shared it as if I had ownership of it. The reality is I was simply an spectator. At the moment, I didn’t have enough belief in my own ideas and knowledge to share it with others. I changed the story that I was telling myself. Instead of saying, “No one would be interested in my ideas” I started telling myself, “I can touch the lives of millions of people through my ideas and knowledge.” I stopped sharing others information and I started creating and sharing content that was my own.

--

--

Baldomero Montes de Oca
100 Naked Words

I write at www.millennialpursuits.com. I write about topics on psychology, business, and masculinity.