13) Man’s Best Friend

Paul S Markle
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readOct 16, 2017
Photo by Paul S. Markle

I have always been more of a dog person with some acceptance of cats. We have two dogs that act like kids.

We have a cat that acts like Garfield.

Used to be when I was frustrated and couldn’t find my keys or phone etc. I’d fuss at myself out loud. This was more pronounced when no one else was home.

The dogs act like I’m mad at them. They’d slink around like they had done something wrong, such as get on the furniture, eat the cat’s food.

A person can learn a lot from a dog.

I tell them “I’m not upset at you.” I rub their heads and they wag their tails.

They eventually cured me of fussing at myself and now I just look for what I’ve lost and don’t say anything.

They sit and watch, looking hopeful I will find what I’m looking for.

No wonder they’re called man’s best friend.

--

--

Paul S Markle
100 Naked Words

Wordsmith Apprentice studying under this collective community genius. Writer of fiction, poetry, etc. Former head shrinker, current equine coach…