13. The bandaid: fast or slow?

Matt Gardan
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readSep 4, 2016
Credit

There are two types of people in this world. Those that take the band-aid off quickly, and those that do it slowly.

Lately I’ve become a quick person. For a few reasons, first up — they’re not my band-aids usually, I’ve got 3 kids and I’m ripping more of them than me. Second, taking the band-aid off slowly for a 6 year old is a long, painful, tedious process.

Quick is better. The sharp pain soon subsides and you can move on with life.

It’s an approach I should’ve taken to my latest break up too. The last final bit of our relationship ‘came off’ this evening and I’m left feeling sore, lonely and exhausted.

Deep down I’ve known it needed to end, but I didn’t have the courage to do it, so we laboured over a decision that should’ve happened months ago.

It’s been an agonisingly slow process of pulling at old wounds and trying to hold on for the potential of us, instead of the reality of us.

Now time’s cool breeze can start to heal those raw bits of my heart, and carry me on down the road.

--

--

Matt Gardan
100 Naked Words

Dreamer, Creative, Solo-Daddy. My words are slowing coming to me…