15) My conversation with a 102 year old woman.

Eric Turner
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readMar 17, 2017

Her name was Edna, and she was a great example of patience. She was 102 years old. I’m sure she had been tested, tried, and challenged like none other throughout her life. She told me she had a little life experience. Just a little? I thought.

I asked Edna what advice she would pass onto a young man like myself. She said that if she could go back she would try to learn something new every day. She didn’t just mean the little things you learn every day, either. She meant that she would try to commit herself to learning something new every day.

I asked her where in her heart does that advice occupy. She said that she can no longer paint because her fingers are riddled with arthritis. She’s lost something that she once loved to do and it has saddened her. She went on to talk about her beautiful oil paintings.

My focus took me in another direction than I initially intended when I started the conversation with her. Rather than helping me realize what I want to do, my conversation with a 102 year old woman resulted in me realizing what I do not want to do. I don’t want to take my talents and gifts for granted. Some day they’ll be gone.

I want to encourage you all in the same. Hone it, execute it, share it, use it. Just don’t waste it.

If you enjoyed this article, please hit the heart button. This allows more people to see it on medium. Thanks for making my day!

Follow Me!

The Vault

1 . 2 . 3 . 4 . 5 . 6 . 7 . 8 . 9 . 10 . 11 . 12 . 13 . 14

--

--

Eric Turner
100 Naked Words

Husband. Father. Friend. Social Worker. Life is messy. Come along for the ride! Also, check out Medium membership! https://medium.com/@eturn102/membership