16) To Build a Fire

Paul S Markle
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readOct 21, 2017
Amador Loureiro on Unsplash

At night out here I need a campfire. It’s a necessity for this experience.

As part of my routine I gather wood and branches. Then build the first stage so I’m not fumbling around in the dark when ready to meditate on the flickering flames.

My landlord provides logs, but smaller sticks are needed to keep the fire burning and not smoking.

Last night I remembered the story To Build a Fire, by Jack London, who is one of my favorite writers.

That story had a predicament and an outcome I do not envy. Tension from the beginning to the last word. If you have not read that short story I recommend it.

Building a fire is not always simple, but is always necessary.

--

--

Paul S Markle
100 Naked Words

Wordsmith Apprentice studying under this collective community genius. Writer of fiction, poetry, etc. Former head shrinker, current equine coach…